March 17: American Visions

Date(s) - 03/17/2018
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Buy Tickets Now
Viterbo University Fine Arts Center

Torke:  Ash

Winners of the Rising Stars Concerto Competition

Dvořák:  Symphony No. 9,”From the New World”

 How lucky we are to again hear the winners of the 19th annual LSO‘s ‘Rising Stars’ Concerto Competition perform in this traditional event, a contest attracting the finest area high school talent.  Opening the evening is the tone-poem Ash by Milwaukee native Michael Torke who writes music influenced by jazz, colors, and minimalism. Torke marries the world of Bach, Handel and Brahms to the pulsating popular dance music of the 1980s.  Following intermission is the wonderful Symphony, “From the New World,” by Antonín Dvořák.  Considering Dvořák spent the summer of 1893 in Spillville, Iowa, this work is one of the most famous in the entire symphonic literature.

Single tickets will be available to purchase after July 31, 2017